Skip to Content

State Board News July 2012

Board Finalizes Budget Request

Although FY13 is only 11 days old, July is also the time for state agencies to finalize their budget requests for the next fiscal year.  On Tuesday, the State Board voted to send the following package of requests to the Governor:

1.      Base state aid per pupil – fund as required by current law: $4,492 per pupil

2.      Special education – fund at maintenance of effort requirement

3.      Mentor teacher program – fund at half of current law: $1.45m

4.      Professional development – fund as required by current law: $8.5m

All other items related to the department’s budget will be submitted at their current levels of funding.

Since Board member support varied for the above items, individual votes are listed here.

John Bacon – not voting, left the meeting at 3 pm prior to budget discussion

Carolyn Campbell – yes on all

Sally Cauble – yes on all

Walt Chappell – yes on 2, 3; no on 1,4

Dave Dennis – yes on all

Kathy Martin – yes on 2; no on 1, 3, 4

Jana Shaver – yes on all

Sue Storm – yes on all

Janet Waugh – yes on all

Ken Willard – yes on 1, 2; no on 3, 4

In addition, the State Board voted 9-0 to recommend funding at levels requested by these groups:

Communities in Schools - $100,000

Ag in the Classroom - $35,000

KACEE [environmental education] - $40,000

The Board’s discussion ranged from pleas to be strong advocates for students and fund the current requirements of state law to statements that Board requests were considered irrelevant by the Legislature.

Teaching in Kansas Commission II Formed

The Teaching in Kansas Commission II, authorized by the State Board in June, is charged with providing recommendations to the State Board by spring, 2013, for implementing the student growth and multiple measures language of KSDE’s ESEA Waiver request.

The Commission will have about 30 members, several of whom were announced at this month’s State Board meeting.  They include KNEA members Debra Hutton, Lansing EA; Mary Colvin, Chee-Craw NEA; Scott Kickhaefer, NEA Topeka; Jay Super, Maize TA; Lenn Shipman, Maize TA; and Peg Dunlap, KNEA director of instructional advocacy.

Additional members will be announced soon and the Commission will begin work in late August or early September.

Professional Standards Board Appointment

Mike Wilson, middle school teacher from EA 309 Nickerson-South Hutchinson, was appointed to fill a vacancy on the Teaching and School Administration Professional Standards Advisory Board.  He will finish an unexpired term running until June 30, 2014, at which time he will be eligible for reappointment.

In other action, the State Board

·         Approved School Improvement Grants for

o   USD 247, Cherokee, South East HS, $328,153

o   USD 259, Wichita, Curtis MS, $1,882,946

o   USD 259, Wichita, Pleasant Valley MS, $689,060

o   USD 480, Liberal, South MS, $1,000,000

o   USD 500, KCK, Northwest MS, $1,024,000

o   USD 500, KCK, Emerson elementary, $630,000

o   USD 500, KCK, Douglass elementary, $1,165,155 (new)

o   USD 500, KCK, New Stanley elementary, $1,337,026 (new)

o   USD 501, Topeka, Highland Park HS, $1,970,000

·         Approved revisions to the KLN model (service centers, led by SW Plains and Greenbush, will now coordinate most services)

·         Approved a consulting contract with Cross & Joftus for assistance with transition to the new KLN model

·         Adopted a recommendation from the Professional Practices Commission to accept a voluntary surrender

·         Approved an Ed-Flex waiver for USD 262, Valley Center

·         Heard an update on transition to Common Core Standards and SMARTER Balanced Assessment Consortium

·         Heard an update on Next Generation Science Standards

·         Approved requests from USD 224, Clifton/Clyde, USD 418, McPherson, and USD 500, KCK to apply for waivers from USDE to use ACT assessments in grades 8-12

·         Approved recommendations from the Licensure Review Committee to approve seven and deny seven licensure requests

·         Approved charter school renewals for

o   USD 253, Emporia, Turning Point Learning Center

o   USD 287, West Franklin, West Franklin Learning Center

o   USD 312, Haven, Pleasantview Academy

o   USD 312, Haven, Yoder Charter School

o   USD 373, Newton, Walton Rural Life Center

o   USD 400, Smoky Valley, Smoky Valley Virtual Charter

o   USD 497, Lawrence, Lawrence Virtual School

o   USD 501, Topeka, Hope Street Academy

·         Approved charter school dissemination grants, $77,000 each, for

o   USD 253, Emporia, Turning Point Learning Center

o   USD 400, Smoky Valley, Smoky Valley Virtual Charter

·         Adopted a resolution supporting the formation of the Alliance for the Arts in Education

August SBOE Meeting

The next meeting of the State Board will be Tuesday and Wednesday, August 14 and 15, 2012.  The agenda and board meeting materials should be available on the KSDE website by Monday, August 6.

Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard